Ever since I was a young girl, I had dreamt about Paris and what it would be like to visit there. Was it as beautiful as the movies and pictures made it out to be? Was it going to live up to my expectations? Yes. The answer for me, now and forever, will always be yes. In July of 2016, I was lucky enough to cross off the number one spot filled in on my bucket-list: Paris.

Join me, while I reminisce on a few of my favorite spots in Paris, France.

Sacré Cœur Basilica

Processed with RNI Films. Preset 'Agfacolor 50's HC'

Translating to the Basilica of the Sacred Heart, the Sacré Cœur Basilica is a Roman Catholic Church perched on the peak of Montmartre, one of my favorite places in Paris. It was built in the early 1900s and is the second highest point in the city, providing some spectacular views. I climbed with wobbly legs to the viewpoint and was in awe of the city before me. Inside, all was well and quiet. People were content. It seemed in that moment as though there was no negativity in all the world. I wish everyday, in every place, it could feel that way.

The Seine River

Processed with RNI Films. Preset 'Agfacolor 50's HC'

The Seine River flows throughout Paris, and is so serene and beautiful. I definitely recommend taking a boat tour on the Seine. There are hundreds of different boats lined up along the Seine, so it is definitely not hard to find one! Sunset cruises are definitely a good choice, especially if timed right where you can see the twinkling of the Eiffel Tower at dark.

On Bastille Day, July 14th, I sat along the Seine and watched the fireworks over the Eiffel Tower. The fireworks reflected back in the untamed river. It was such a surreal feeling to be in the city I had always dreamt of, and I will never get over it.

The Eiffel Tower (of course)

IMG_5401.JPG

What would a Paris blog post be without the famous Eiffel Tower?

The Eiffel Tower on the Champ de Mars is a 1,063 foot tall iron structure by Gustave Eiffel. It is only 132 years old and is fairly “young” in comparison to the Notre Dame that is 856 years old.

My visit to the Eiffel Tower was one of the most memorable, special moments of my life. Standing underneath the Iron Lady made me feel like I was in a dream. Even looking at this picture, and all the others, it still does not seem that it was me three years ago who was lucky enough to take them.

We got food from a small shop underneath and took the elevator up to the second viewing area. I have countless pictures from up there and may even make another post to include them. Who knows!

Unfortunately, there are still many bits and pieces of Paris I want to see; such as the Louvre, Musée d’Orsay, and more of Montmartre. But, this will only fuel my fire to get back on a plane to picturesque Paris.

Until next time – safe travels!

Taylor Skeen

All photos are mine unless otherwise stated.

Instagram – @thegirlwiththefreckles

 Follow my blog with Bloglovin